close
Moral Realism | Zookal Textbooks | Zookal Textbooks
  • Author(s) Russ Shafer-Landau
  • SubtitleA Defence
  • Edition
  • Published1st July 2003
  • PublisherOxford University Press UK
  • ISBN9780199259755

A Defence

Moral Realism is a systematic defence of the idea that there are objective moral standards. In the tradition of Plato and G. E. Moore, Russ Shafer-Landau argues that there are moral principles that are true independently of what anyone, anywhere, happens to think of them. These principles are a fundamental aspect of reality, just as much as those that govern mathematics or the natural world. They may be true regardless of our ability to grasp them, and
their truth is not a matter of their being ratified from any ideal standpoint, nor of being the object of actual or hypothetical consensus, nor of being an expression of our rational
nature.Shafer-Landau accepts Plato's and Moore's contention that moral truths are sui generis. He rejects the currently popular efforts to conceive of ethics as a kind of science, and insists that moral truths and properties occupy a distinctive area in our ontology. Unlike scientific truths, the fundamental moral principles are knowable a priori. And unlike mathematical truths, they are essentially normative: intrinsically action-guiding, and supplying a
justification for all who follow their counsel.Moral Realism is the first comprehensive treatise defending non-naturalistic moral realism in over a generation. It ranges over all of the central
issues in contemporary metaethics, and will be an important source of discussion for philosophers and their students interested in issues concerning the foundations of ethics.

Moral Realism

Format
Print on Demand

Leaves 10-15 days after printing

$200.33 $203.00 Save $2.67
Try Zookal Study for 30 days FREE for an extra 10% 

NEW PRICE

$180.30 + free shipping

(10% off - save $20.03)

Zookal Study EOFY Special

30-day FREE trial. $14.95/mo after. Cancel anytime.

*Discount will apply at checkout.

 See terms and conditions

You will get a further 10% off for this item ($180.30 after discount) because you have added Zookal Study Premium Free Trial to your bag.

For this discount to apply, you will need to complete checkout with the Zookal Study Premium Free Trial in your bag.

-
+
  • Author(s) Russ Shafer-Landau
  • SubtitleA Defence
  • Edition
  • Published1st July 2003
  • PublisherOxford University Press UK
  • ISBN9780199259755

A Defence

Moral Realism is a systematic defence of the idea that there are objective moral standards. In the tradition of Plato and G. E. Moore, Russ Shafer-Landau argues that there are moral principles that are true independently of what anyone, anywhere, happens to think of them. These principles are a fundamental aspect of reality, just as much as those that govern mathematics or the natural world. They may be true regardless of our ability to grasp them, and
their truth is not a matter of their being ratified from any ideal standpoint, nor of being the object of actual or hypothetical consensus, nor of being an expression of our rational
nature.Shafer-Landau accepts Plato's and Moore's contention that moral truths are sui generis. He rejects the currently popular efforts to conceive of ethics as a kind of science, and insists that moral truths and properties occupy a distinctive area in our ontology. Unlike scientific truths, the fundamental moral principles are knowable a priori. And unlike mathematical truths, they are essentially normative: intrinsically action-guiding, and supplying a
justification for all who follow their counsel.Moral Realism is the first comprehensive treatise defending non-naturalistic moral realism in over a generation. It ranges over all of the central
issues in contemporary metaethics, and will be an important source of discussion for philosophers and their students interested in issues concerning the foundations of ethics.
translation missing: en.general.search.loading